Snack 'N' Hack


The Hack is Back!
March 13, 2010, 2:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

After a long and hard winter the hack is back.  I’ve got a full-time relatively high paying job which has its pros and cons.

Pro: I have enough money to actually buy materials for my hacking addiction.

Con: I don’t have as much time as I did to actually hack (though I’m basically low-level hacking all day at work).

I am returning to the Tigernome project.  I found another Lights Out game at Goodwill for $2.50, so I am taking another crack at the hack.  I have a better screw-driver this time, so I didn’t make the mistake of damaging the board.  Also, I know more about the circuit, so I won’t be separating the boards.  All of the transistors on the board are necessary for correctly amplifying and switching the signals from the membrane switches.

Well! It feels good to be back on top.

FUTURE HACK ALERT:

C-64 Mobile Internet Device (no, it’s not Ben Heck’s laptop).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hello,

Any progress on this project? I just bought a Lights Out and I’m also going to try to hack it into a midi controller. Great job attacking the LED pinouts. Have you decoded the buttons matrix?

I’ll be using an AVR controller, and will make it a simple midi device, no monome function.

–tim

Comment by Timbotronik




Leave a Reply

